Me, In Summary

For those who are like, "I'm just here for your cookie recipe," that recipe is here.

My name is Mandy Ashcraft. I'm 35 years old and live in Corpus Christi, TX with my husband Dustin. My interests include black tea lattes, science fiction, baking, and ducks. My favorite authors are Douglas Adams, Orson Scott Card, Philip K. Dick, and Kurt Vonnegut. When I'm not reading, I'm usually in the kitchen. I eat frozen pizza for breakfast, but I can also whip up some considerably advanced-level cuisine. I've only set the stove on fire twice, and both times were while making marshmallows. I'm vegetarian, but I try not to be annoying about it (notice I didn't link to a brochure). I work as an adult psychiatric case manager at a community mental health clinic. I've been a contributing author at Inspire Coastal Bend magazine for over a decade. I worked as a Registered Dental Hygienist 2009-2019. I'm an LGBT ally, and like to participate in Pride events. I had a small baking business called Rockcandy for about a year where I specialized in bite-sized desserts by the dozen. It was one of those "cool but I'd never do it again" life-experiences. My best-seller was a dark chocolate merlot brownie bite, and I still make those for fun. I've always wanted to spend the night at the hotel that inspired The Shining, to visit my birthplace of Guam, and also to own a home with windows in the kitchen. That might not sound like something worthy of a life goal, but when you don't have windows in your kitchen, you add it to the list. I am a Doctor of Psychology student pursuing Clinical Psychology professionally, with an interest in researching  the psychosomatic symptoms associated with severe mental illness. I hope to contribute positively to the field of mental health. I am working on building a PTSD awareness non-profit called The WATCHDOG Project, with a goal of broadening public trauma awareness. Other than this, I'd like to help colonize Mars, part-time. I love to read, and I dream of taking my future children to the public library. Right now my child is a chihuahua so they won't let her in. I hope you enjoy my work; I'd love to hear from you.

Hi, this is my face.
Question? Comment? Want to talk about aliens?